Choosing Joy

If I had to pick a theme song for my life right now, it would probably be When Will My Life Begin, sung by  Mandy Moore, AKA Rapunzel. She seems to understand exactly what I’m going through. Well, I’m not locked in a tower by my creepy, controlling mother, but I am wondering when my life will do something besides wave at me as it passes by.

With all this I’ve realized how important it is to choose joy everyday. It can mean so many different things for so many different people, but for me it means looking for little things that make me smile, remembering when I see them and being aware that I was happy, if only for a brief second. It also means looking up pictures of baby ducks and hot guys, therefore this is turning into a THINGS THAT MAKE ME HAPPY MASTER POST.

  • Bare feet
  • Mr. Darcy
  • Buying sweaters
  • Knowing all the words to a song

pictures that make me happy

  • Singing in the shower
  • Sunny days
  • Family
  • Tumblr

tumblr_mqlu8c7nCT1qh66wqo10_500

  • Mason jars
  • Massages
  • Climbing trees
  • Disney

enhanced-buzz-12091-1369409669-1

  • Cashmere Glow (perfume)
  • The country
  • Good hair days
  • Rainbow knee socks

tumblr_mrzl77dJte1qan69no3_500

  • Spontaneity
  • Fall boots
  • Pick-up trucks
  • Finding things on sale

tumblr_ms3vmmWDnE1rvfd1ao10_500

  • Gel pens
  • The smell of real leather
  • Bubble baths
  • Dance parties

tumblr_inline_mhroicGiwm1qz4rgp

It’s hard to think about growing up when you’re right in the middle of doing it. It’s hard to know what you want. Sometimes there are so many voices in your head it’s difficult to know which of them is yours.

-Kevin Brooks

Whatever you happen to be going through, good or bad,  know that looking for joy is a choice and you have the power to make it. Don’t let a creepy, controlling mother keep you locked in the metaphorical tower of your life–use the resources you have (even if you don’t have long hair that glows when you sing) and find joy.

Do you have a go-to thing you do when you’re down? Got any advice on how to beat the blues? Respond in the comments! I hope my list made you smile and that you have a WONDERFUL week.

 

One thought on “Choosing Joy”

Leave a Reply

