An Ode to the Future

Sometimes when I kiss your nose,

I think my heart can’t love anymore, but it can for you

and when I give you that look,

You know it,

it means that I have never loved anyone the way I love you

and just because I don’t love the same way you do

doesn’t mean I love less,

it just means I love different

and just because we love different,

doesn’t mean we can’t keep loving each other forever

because I will love you

forever,

even when the stars have run out of shine

and I hate the way you scratch your ass

when you wake up

too early in the morning,

because I will make you coffee on those days

and you won’t remember the coffee,

only the love because you have learned to look for it

the same way I see you put the toilet seat down

and call it love.

Leave a Reply

