Review of Matthew and the Atlas

I’ve been looking for some new music for awhile now and I stumbled upon this artist while strolling through Spotify. One of the main issues I have with most mainstream music and any music, really, is the lyrics. I like lyrics that mean something, that draw on a deeper sense of truth. As a poet I really like songs that have that poetry essence, if you will.

After listening to all the songs I found, my favorite song is I Will Remain. Check out some of these great lyrics:

Further from the towns you’ve known I’ll remain from where I have begun,
Summer before I start I was kicking home stones as a child,
In the meadow when the storm came through and I followed straight back to you.

He sings it with such a soulful voice, the combination is quite lovely and really takes the lyrics home for me. If you like the Decemberists or even Ed Sheeran, you would like this artist. The music is alternative, with a simple, almost personal feel.  Listening to Matthew and the Atlas is like having a balm applied directly to the heart, soothing the edges that have become sharp, a reminder that the world is still beautiful and that home is not a place, but a feeling.

You’ll find me in the morning, hidden within the rose
Down beneath the great lake, up where the jackdaw crows
My grandfather did ask me, do you know what you have done
There will be bones in the waters
I found them when you were young

The new album Other Rivers is coming out April 14th, which I will definitely be purchasing and if you like some of these songs I encourage you to buy it as well!

Learn more about Matthew and the Atlas and let me know what you think in the comments:

Website: http://matthewandtheatlas.com/ 

Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/matthewandtheatlas/featured

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/matthewandtheatlas

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Matthew_Atlas

Leave a Reply

